New Parliament to be convened on June 10

Parliament Buildings

parliament[] – President of Guyana, David Granger has officially proclaimed that the 11th Parliament will convene at 14:00hrs on Wednesday, 10th June, 2015 at the Parliament Chamber, Public Buildings, Georgetown.

The proclamation is in keeping with Article 69 (1) of the Constitution, which stipulates that each session of Parliament shall be held at the place within Guyana and begin at the time that the President appoints by proclamation.

A press statement from the Parliament’s office noted that the business of the sitting will include the election of the Speaker and Deputy-Speaker of the House, and the swearing in of all Members of Parliament.

The sitting will then be suspended to facilitate the arrival of the President who will inspect the Guard of Honour, in the forecourt of the Public Buildings compound, and then address the National Assembly.

Additionally, Clerk of the National Assembly, Mr. Sherlock Isaacs, will meet with the new Members of Parliament on Monday, June 08 to brief them on parliamentary practices and procedures and to discuss their privileges and entitlements.





This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.