Ministers appointed to chair Go-invest, NICIL & Lottery Commission

President David Granger meeting with his Ministers of the Cabinet. [GINA Photo]

President Granger and some members of his cabinet. [iNews' Photo]
President Granger and some members of his cabinet. [iNews’ Photo]
[] – Several Ministers of the APNU+AFC government have been appointed to serve as the Chairs of several state agencies and commissions including the National Industrial and Commercial Investments Limited (NICIL), which was previously headed by Winston Brassington.

Finance Minister Winston Jordan now heads the NICIL Board and is also the Chairman of the Bureau of Statistics and the Privatisation Board.

Minister of Governance, Raphael Trotman, who oversees the Natural Resources Sector, has been appointed to serve as the Chairman of the Guyana Lottery Commission.

Meanwhile, Minister of Business Dominic Gaskin has been named as the Chairman of Guyana Office for Investment (Go-Invest) and is also a member of the Privatisation Board.

Minister of State Joseph Harmon has been named as a member of NICIL and Working People’s Alliance (WPA) Member, Desmond Trotman has been appointed as a member of the Board of the Bureau of Statistics.

Other noteworthy appointment to State Boards include, Vanessa Kissoon as a member of Linden Enterprise Network (LEN), Lance Carberry as the Chairman of the Guyana Oil Company, Christopher Ram as a member of the Guyana Securities Council, and a member of the National Insurance Scheme (NIS) Board while Dr Surendra Persaud was appointed NIS Chairman.

Also, Major General Retired Joe Singh has been appointed the Chairman of National Agricultural Research and Extension Institute (NAREI), Olato Sam as the Chairman of the Guyana School of Agriculture (GSA) and Dr Steve Surujbally as the Deputy Chairman of GSA. Joel Edmondson has been named a Board member of the Hope Coconut Industries Limited.



  1. Almost all of the state boards are full out PNC politicians….same thing they complain about while in opposition, the same thing they are practicing… what a disgust with thse people….it is clear cut hunger for power!

  2. Why is it ministers are been named as chairman of state boards? Is this not similar to what the PPP was doing exerting their dominance on all state entities? It is now taken to a new level the hierarchy of the Govt taking control. I may be wrong but i simply seeing a pattern.
    Secondly a pattern of behaviour been displayed that very much mirrors the past administration is the racial composition of the boards.
    Lets face it what we are seeing is that when a predominately indian party in govt the composition and leadership of boards slats to reflect the party make up. I thought with the Coalition there would have been a balance of racial composition which did not and is not happening. Some of the chairman named are old and feeble i wonder whats really the logics.
    We need to change that and i had confidence that the coalition would have changed it, we are a country of 6 races.
    Thirdly i notice the predominance of ex military personnel that are associated with government in various capacities.
    Fourthly i notice how silent the AFC component of the coalition is and i wonder.
    Those who voted for the coalition because of the AFC component are now asking the question why the silence. There are no regrets for voting coalition but there should and must be a change of the past politics and it must be evident in our daily lives. The AFC has to set the records straight and be the key to opening the potential for a political system that transcends race.

  3. There is a saying “the more thing change the more it remain the same” mr. Granger said no politician much be state boards. So happen now. Looking at these state boards it look like cardboard.most of the members are from the PNC.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.