Dr Roopnaraine to head 50th Independence Anniversary Commission

Education Minister Dr Rupert Roopnaraine
Education Minister Dr Rupert Roopnaraine

[www.inewsguyana.com] – Cabinet has approved the formation of a National Commemoration Commission, chaired by Education Minister Dr Rupert Roopnaraine and will be responsible for planning the celebrations of Guyana’s 50th Anniversary as an independent nation.

According to a press statement, the establishment of the National Commemoration Commission was formally approved by Cabinet on July 22, and will be comprised of representatives of several government agencies, civil society and the diaspora community.

The Ministry of Education is currently in the process of convening the Commission and establishing a formal Secretariat.

“A full launch of the National Commemoration Commission is slated for the third week of August, during which the general public will be informed of the composition of the commission, its full mandate, and the activities planned for Guyana’s 50th Independence Anniversary,” the release stated.

It was also stated that preparatory work on the Commission shall be initiated via Parliamentary motion before scheduled Parliamentary recess for 2015, with a fully functional Commission prepared to present an Action Plan for activities by October, 2015.

 “Preliminary activities should begin in January of 2016, leading up to May 26th, 2015. An initial report shall be prepared before the Parliamentary recess of 2016, followed by a full report prepared before parliamentary recess of 2016,” the statement noted.

 A full report, audit, and publications/productions coming out of the Commission’s activities shall be prepared before Budget 2017.



This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.