Cricket, the energy of Independence!


By Devina Samaroo and Romario Samaroo

All warriors were called out amid pomp and fanfare as two-time finalists of the Caribbean Premiere League (CPL) T20 Cricket, the Guyana Amazon Warriors team participated in the country’s Independence Day paradeamazon in observance of the 50th Jubilee celebrations.

The gargantuan crowd grew wild with excitement on seeing their favourite players parading on the road, joining them in the grand festivities, just ahead of the much anticipated CPL tournament.

With two fully loaded trucks on the road, hundreds of thrilled fans and supporters flaunted their Amazon Warriors branded jerseys, flags, hats and other merchandises as they gyrated to the beat of the popular theme song: Calling All Warriors!

True cricket fanatics made use of the opportunity to greet and rub shoulders with their heroes, soliciting autographs and snapping selfies, reminiscent of the distinctive razzmatazz known to this cricket-loving region Fifty autograph cricket balls were given to excited fans along the parade route.

DSC_2616At the Stabroek Market Square before the parade kicked off, Amazon Warrior’s Coach Roger Harper explained that the players are committed to their vigorous training sessions and capitalising on advice in every possible way to improve performance and remaining a force to be reckoned with in the highly competitive tournament, with the ultimate goal of emerging champions for the first time.

“We have a good squad of players. We are looking forward to have a successful tournament,” Harper expressed.

DSC_2634Among the players who were in the parade were Veerasammy Permaul, Devendra Bishoo, Christopher Barnwell, Stephen Jacobs, Assad Fudadin, Paul Wintz and Anthony Bramble. Coach Roger Harper, Assistant Coach Esuan Crandon along with Team Manager Omar Khan were also in the parade

The team will come out under new Captain, New Zealand’s destructive top order batsman Martin Guptil, who has been with the Amazon Warriors since the inaugural tournament in 2013.

The team will include regional powerhouses: Dwayne Smith, Orlando Peters, Stephen Katwaroo, Muhammad Ahsan Ali Khan, Jason Mohammed, and Rayad Emrit.

The team will be boosted by international players with the likes of Pakistani fast bowler Sohail Tanvir; Australian duo, Chris Lynn, the explosive all-rounder and spinning phenomenon Adam Zampa; both of whom had exceptional runs in this year’s Indian Premiere League (IPL).

The core of the squad comprises local superstars including Captain of the West Indies Under-19 Worldcup Champions Shimron Hetmyer; spin twins Veerasammy Permaul and Devendra Bishoo; all-rounders Christopher Barnwell and Stephen Jacobs; fast bowler Paul Wintz as well as specialist top order batsman Assad Fudadin and wicket keeper Anthony Bramble.

The Amazon Warriors will be hosting the inaugural winners Jamaica Tallawahs on July 7 (7pm), the St Kitts & Nevis Patriots (12 midday), defending champions Trinbago Knight Riders (7pm) and the St Lucia Zouks (7pm) at the Guyana National Stadium, Providence, East Bank Demerara. (Reprinted: Guyana Times)


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.