CARICOM Chair urges “credible and transparent recount” without further delay

T&T Prime Keith Rowley (right) with CARICOM Chair Barbadian PM Mia Mottley at a press conference during the two day visit to Guyana last month
CARICOM Chair Barbadian PM Mia Mottley (centre) and other Regional Leaders at a press conference during the two-day visit to Guyana in March

Statement by the Chair of the Caribbean Community (CARICOM) on CARICOM Observer Team for Guyana Elections Recount

The Caribbean Community (CARICOM) Observer Team for the recount of Guyana’s Regional and General Elections will arrive in Guyana on Friday, 1 May.

The three-member Team will be led by Ms. Cynthia Barrow-Giles, Senior Lecturer in the Department of Government at the University of the West Indies (UWI), and includes Mr. John Jarvis, Commissioner of the Antigua and Barbuda Electoral Commission and Mr. Sylvester King, Deputy Supervisor of Elections of St. Vincent and the Grenadines.

Ms. Barrow-Giles was a member of the High-Level Team which came to Guyana last March to participate in a scheduled recount which had to be aborted. The other members of that Team are unavailable for the present mission. Both Mr. Jarvis and Mr. King participated in the CARICOM Electoral Observer Mission for the Elections held on 2 March 2020.

The Community thanks the Government of Canada for the generous support it has provided to CARICOM for this initiative.

The Community calls on all concerned to ensure a credible and transparent recount process in order to provide legitimacy to any government, which would be sworn in as a result. This process must be completed without further delay.

30 April 2020