Hikers retain male under-21 title

GCC girls pose with their trophy
GCC girls pose with their trophy

[www.inewsguyana.com] – The final day of the fourth Annual Hikers Hockey Club Junior Indoor Tournament proved to be the most exciting on Sunday at the National Gymnasium.

Marian Academy would find themselves as the underdogs in the final against the heavily favoured Old Fort Vikings but Rosario Ramsammy produced one of the goals of the tournament when he dribbled his way through the entire Old Fort team at blistering pace to put his team ahead in the fourth minute.

Vikings would respond with an equalizer in the seventh minute through Stephon Sprosta. With the score remaining level until full time, the finals would have to be settled with a penalty shootout that Marian Academy won 2-1 in the upset victory.

Ramsammy and Eleomar Silva were the two goal scorers for Marian in the penalty shootout.

In the girl’s encounter, the GCC 16 under-16 girls were pushed to the limit against surprise finalist Old Fort who had earlier upset Hikers in the semifinal. Repelling attack after attack, it took something special from national striker Aliyah Gordon to break through the Old Fort defense and settle the match 1-0.

In the final of the under 21 girl’s match, GCC was again pushed to the limit against a spirited Hikers team, but their superior fitness and relentless pressure resulted in all three of their goals being scored in the last three minutes of the match.

The under-21 boy’s final would see a rematch between GCC and defending champions Hikers, the two teams had played to a pulsating 2-2 draw in their round robin encounter.

Hikers’ boys retain championships
Hikers’ boys retain championships

The finals seemed headed for the same faith with end to end action from the opening whistle before Hikers’ Aroydy Branford took matters into his own hands and scored all 5 of his team’s goals in the 5-2 victory to keep the title in his club’s hands for the fourth consecutive year.

The Most Valuable Players (MVP) of the tournament are as flows; Under 13 MVPs Makeda Harding (Marian Academy) and Omari George (Old Fort) received gift certificates valued at $6,000 each. While iNet Communications under 16 MVPs Aliyah Gordon (GCC) and Rosario Ramsammy (Marian Academy) received certificates worth $8,000 each and Woodpecker Products under 21 MVPs Ashley DeGroot (GCC) and Aroydy Branford (Hikers) received similar certificates worth $10,000, all redeemable and Woodpecker Products trophy & sports shop.

In the Global Technology Inter Schools category champions Christ Church as well as MVPs Bushani Kaladeen (North Ruimveldt Multilateral) and Hilton Chester (Queens College), all received certificate values at $45,000 each for computer classes at Global Technology.all

Complete Results

Under 13 Category

Champions – Marian Academy (Brian Sucre, Ethan Sookra, Makeda Hardin, Keon Ramjit, Eleomar Silva & Daniel Brazao)

Runners-up – Old Fort (Darren Stouffle, Charles Chester, Dominic Alleyne, Stephon Headly & Omari George)

Third Place – GCC (Rahim Oliver, Samuel Woodroffe, Eon Burke, Michael Hing, Meshach Sargeant, Alexie Cox & Camyla De-Moraes

MVP Girl – Makeda Harding (Marian Academy)

MVP Boy – Omari George (Old Fort)

Global Technology Inter Schools Category

Champions – Christ Church (Kareem McKenzie, Shania Riley, Stephon Sprosta, Daniel Hooper & Rahim Oliver)

Runners-up – St. Stanislaus College (Myron Philips, Troy Hodge, Shemar Boston Ezekiel Springer & Gordon Trotman)

Third Place – Marian Academy (Makeda Harding, Rosario Ramsammy, Jesse Newton, Keon Ramjit, Eleomar Silva, Lorenzo Vanzo & Mawali Bishop)

MVP Girl – Bushani Kaladeen (North Ruimveldt Multilateral)

MVP Boy – Hilton Chester (Queens College)

iNet Communications Under 16 Girls

Champions – GCC (Aliyah Gordon, Dominique Woodroffe, Shania Riley & Ateya Ally)

Runners-up – Old Fort (Carolyn Dean, Cassie Campbell, Lianna Williams & Veronique Sampson)

Third Place – Hikers (Makeda Harding, Aliyah Abel, Cherub Autar & Cianna Cummings)

MVP- Aliyah Gordon (GCC)

iNet Communications Under 16 Boys

Champions – Marian Academy (Jesse Newton, Rosario Ramsammy, Eleomar Silva, Daniel Brazao, Brian Sucre, Keon Ramjit & Philip Gomes)

Runners-up – Old Fort (Omar Hopkinson, Richard Thomas, Stephon Sprosta & Deron Wilkinson)

Third Place – GCC (Daniel Hooper, Kareem McKenzie, Eon Burke, Meshach Sargeant, Samar DeFreitas, Christian Gonsalves, Lorenzo Vanzo)

MVP – Rosario Ramsammy (Marian Academy)

Woodpecker Products Under 21 Girls

Champions – GCC (Rebecca Xavier, Ashley DeGroot, Briawna Gordon, Dacia Woodroffe, Leah Alphonso, Aliyah Gordon, Dominique Woodroffe, Saskia Hing & Shania Riley)

Runners-up – Hikers (Latacia Chung, Renee James, Charlyn Elliot, Tekeisha Deleon, Nicole Eastman, Annesa Permal, Delice Adonis, Marcia Persaud, Shemuel King, Romichelle Brumell, Makeda Harding, Aliyah Abel & Macaela Harding)

Third Place – Old Fort (Bushani Kaladeen, Minsodia Culpepper, Malica Dey, Carolyn Dean, Cassie Campbell, Lianna Williams, Owinter Henry, Youneik Sadiq, Sarah Phillips, Shana Hernandez & Veronique Sampson)

MVP – Ashley DeGroot (GCC)

Woodpecker Products Under 21 Boys

Champions – Hikers (Jamarj Assanah, Aroydy Branford, Andrew Stewart, Michael Harding, Laured Stewart, Robert Brumell, Joshua Carew, Deryck Blair & Tivesarid Garnett)

Runners-up GCC – (Eric Hing, Jason Ray Khalil, Mark Sargeant, Medroy Scotland, Steven Xavier, Keon McKenzie, Daniel Hooper, Kareem McKenzie, Michael Craig, Lennox Carrol, Eon Burke, Shaquille Hooper)

Third Place – Old Fort (Omar Hopkinson, Mark Fraser, Timothy Baker, Stephon King, Onasis Fraser, Stephon Sprosta & Deron Wilkinson)

MVP – Aroydy Branford (Hikers)



This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.