Guyana unofficially the winners of the WICB/PCL 4-day league

Guyana Cricket team before leaving for one of their round matches.

[] – Guyana has secured the WICB 4-day Premier Cricket League (PCL) title despite one round left to be played.

After their draw with Trinidad and Tobago in the last round in which Guyana gained seven points, Guyana amassed 130 points, leading second place Barbados Pride by 22 points

This means that even a loss against the Windward Islands Volcanoes in the final round match set to begin on Friday basically means nothing.

To be clear, a team can earn a maximum of 20 points which means that Guyana’s closest competitors in Barbados can reach a maximum point total of 128 in their final round if they should win.

Further, the win is Guyana’s first class 4-day win since 1998.

Guyana Jaguars squad: Leon Johnson (Captain); Rajendra Chandrika; Assad Fudadin; Narsingh Deonarine; Shivnarine Chanderpaul; Vishaul Singh;  Raymon Reifer; Christopher Barnwell; Anthony Bramble; Veerasammy Permaul; Devendra Bishoo; Keon Joseph; and Ronsford Beaton.