Franchises retain respective icons

Sunil Narine
Sunil Narine

[] – The Caribbean Premier League has announced the return of the six West Indies icon players who will spearhead their franchise teams in this year’s competition.

Through a statement, the company confirmed that Chris Gayle, Kieron Pollard, Dwayne Bravo, Sunil Narine, Darren Sammy and Marlon Samuels will all return.

According to the Caribbean Premier League’s Director of Cricket Tom Moody, they are delighted to be welcoming back the icon players to the CPL this season.

Guyana Amazon Warriors franchise player Sunil Narine, said “I thoroughly enjoyed playing for the Amazon Warriors last year in what was a hugely competitive and fun tournament. I hope we can go one better than last year and give the people of Guyana something to celebrate.”

The CPL launched last year to sell-out crowds, with over 250,000 spectators attending matches across Antigua, Barbados, Guyana, Jamaica, Trinidad and St Lucia.

The tournament returns in July and August 2014 where Jamaica Tallawahs will defend their title against the St. Lucia Zouks, Trinidad & Tobago Red Steel, Antigua Hawksbills, Guyana Amazon Warriors and Barbados Tridents.




This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.