Clement Rohee elected as new General Secretary of PPP

President, Donald Ramotar
President, Donald Ramotar

The Central Committee of the People’s Progressive Party (PPP) today elected Clement Rohee as its new General Secretary after the incumbent Donald Ramotar declined to continue in the post.

At a media conference after the first leadership meeting since the August 2-4 Congress, the party announced its newly elected Executive Committee.

These include: Donald Ramotar, Bharrat Jagdeo,  Roger Luncheon, Zulfikar Mustapha, Robert Persaud, Frank Anthony, Irfaan Ali, Gail Teixeira, Clinton Collymore, Navin Chandarpal, Komal Chand, Ali Baksh, Bheri Ramsaran, Khellawan Lall and Pauline Sukhai.

The new General Secretary is part of the Executive Committee.

The three candidate members elected were: Shyam Nokta, Neil Kumar and Dharamkumar Seeraj.

Newly elected General Secretary of the PPP, Clement Rohee.
Newly elected General Secretary of the PPP, Clement Rohee.

At the press conference, Ramotar expressed his full confidence in the abilities of Rohee to execute the duties as General Secretary. Ramotar told reporters that he decided to step down from the position, since it became overwhelming, and as such, he nominated Rohee. Additionally, Rohee said that the task ahead is a tough one, but he is ready and committed to take on the challenge.

When asked if he will resign as the country’s Home Affairs Minister given his new post, Rohee said that this will not happen anytime in the near future.



This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.