‘Respect the Game’ charity Basketball Teams announced

Giftland OfficeMax Marketing Representative, Delroy Dash (left) handing over the cheque to the ‘Respect the Game’s’ Director, Surika Danraj. Saved as sponsorship
Giftland OfficeMax Marketing Representative, Delroy Dash (left) handing over the cheque to the ‘Respect the Game’s’ Director, Surika Danraj.

[www.inewsguyana.com] – Basketball fans will be in for a night of entertaining basketball on December 13 when some of Guyana’s public figures and brand managers take the hard court for the ‘Respect the Game’ charity basketball event.

The game set to generate funds to donate to various charities is expected to bring fans back to the sport as well as respecting the game that has dwindled for some time. The organisers of the event revealed the members of their respective squads on Tuesday.

The celebrity members of Team Toney being led by Sport Journalist Rawle Toney will include: Courts Guyana Marketing Manager, Pernel Cummings, Proprietor of Wind Jammer International Hotel, Carey Griffith, US Embassy Public Affairs Officer Robert Adelson, Founder of SASOD Joel Simpson, Broadcaster Nerissa Pearson, Ronald Grogan out of Canada, Giftland’s Compton Bobb and FIBA referee Lugard Mohan.

The first division players of the team will include; Akeem “The Dream” Kanhai (Ravens), Dominic Vincente (Ravens), Shelroy Thomas (Colts), Stephan Gillis (Pacesetters), Shane Webster (Colts), Drumson McCually (Nets) and Kester Gomes. The Coach of the team will be Raven’s Darcel Harris.

Meanwhile on the opposite bench, Team Bond being led by Politician James Bond will include; Javed Ali (Chief Executive of the Slingerz Sound), Faizal Khan (Guyanese football aficionado), Malcolm ‘Mr. Wickedee’ Ferreira (radio host 94.1 Fm) and Nuriyyih Gerrard (radio host 94.1 Fm), Curtis ‘Casual’ Armstrong (radio host 98.1 Fm), Chad Ramsarup (Journalist), Edison Jefford (Sports Journalist), Christopher Barnwell (Guyana and West Indies cricketer), Cardella Hamilton (model), Joel Browne, Herman Liverpool and Roger Yearwood (Attorney-at-Law).

The first division players will include; Ryan Gullen (Ravens), Royston Siland (Pacesetters), Jermaine Slater (Ravens) and the high-flying Tyrone Hamid (Ravens), Travis Burnett (Pacesetters), Rodwell Fortune (Ravens), Jarrell Allen (Berbice), Ryan Stephney (Ravens) and Chris Williams (Linden). The Coach of the team will be Sonics’ Mark Agard.

Meanwhile, Giftland OfficeMax on Tuesday handed over sponsorship for the event, “We love this concept from this group as a means of respecting the game we all love,” Marketing Representative, Delroy Dash said of reason behind the sponsorship.

The night of action is expected to tip off from 19:00hs with a high school game before the University of Guyana takes on Qualfon before the featured game between Team Toney and Team Bond.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.