Pakistan win toss, send Windies in to bat in first Test


(AFP) Pakistan captain Misbah-ul-Haq won the toss and put the West Indies in to bat on the opening day of the first Test of the three-match series at Sabina Park on Friday.

Ahmed Shehzad (C) and Imad Wasim (R) of Pakistan celebrate the dismissal of Kieran Powell (L) of the West Indies during the 3rd and final ODI match between West Indies and Pakistan at Guyana National Stadium, Providence, Guyana, April 11, 2017. (Photo: AFP)

West Indies are giving Test debuts to a pair of Guyanese batsmen, Shimron Hetmyer and Vishaul Singh, with middle-order batsman Jermaine Blackwood and medium-pacer Miguel Cummins omitted from the final XI.

Pakistan have resisted the temptation of including the uncapped Shadab Khan in their team as a second spinner in support of Yasir Shah, choosing instead to introduce Mohammad Abbas for his debut Test as a third pacer alongside Wahab Riaz and Mohammad Aamir.

This is the 50th Test between the two nations and also the 50th Test match to be played at Sabina Park in Kingston.

Teams: West Indies – Jason Holder (captain), Kraigg Brathwaite, Kieran Powell, Shimron Hetmyer, Shai Hope, Vishaul Singh, Shane Dowrich (wicketkeeper), Roston Chase, Devendra Bishoo, Alzarri Joseph, Shannon Gabriel.

Pakistan – Misbah-ul-Haq (captain), Azhar Ali, Ahmed Shehzad, Babar Azam, Younis Khan, Asad Shafiq, Sarfraz Ahmed (wicketkeeper), Mohammad Aamir, Wahab Riaz, Yasir Shah, Mohammad Abbas.

Umpires: Richard Illingworth (ENG), Richard Kettleborough (ENG)

Match Referee: Chris Broad (ENG


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.