England bowl; Curran, Ambris given debuts


Toss England won the toss and chose to bowl v West Indies

Tom Curran claimed a wicket with his second ball (Getty Images)

(ESPNcricinfo) England gave an ODI debut to Tom Curran having won the toss and chosen to bowl in the fifth and final ODI. England had already wrapped up the series with victory on Duckworth-Lewis-Stern at The Oval on Wednesday night.

Chris Woakes missed out, Eoin Morgan saying he “didn’t pull up that well” after the fourth match, and England were again without Ben Stokes and Alex Hales – both currently not considered for selection – but resisted the temptation to rest players.

West Indies also included a debutant, in Sunil Ambris, and brought in Kyle Hope for Evin Lewis, centurion at The Oval, after he suffered a hairline fracture to his right ankle. Jason Mohammed was captaining the team in Jason Holder’s absence, after Holder returned home to Barbados for the funeral of his uncle.

The toss had been delayed by a wet morning around Southampton, with the covers left on until the scheduled start time of 12.30pm. It was eventually held at 12.50pm, for a 1.15pm start.

England 1 Jason Roy, 2 Jonny Bairstow, 3 Joe Root, 4 Eoin Morgan (capt), 5 Jos Buttler (wk), 6 Sam Billings, 7 Moeen Ali, 8 Adil Rashid, 9 Tom Curran, 10 Liam Plunkett, 11 Jake Ball

West Indies 1 Chris Gayle, 2 Kyle Hope, 3 Shai Hope (wk), 4 Marlon Samuels, 5 Sunil Ambris, 6 Jason Mohammed (capt), 7 Rovman Powell, 8 Ashley Nurse, 9 Alzarri Joseph, 10 Jerome Taylor, 11 Miguel Cummins


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.