Sammy, Badree named in World T20 Squad

Samuel Badree


Darren Sammy
Darren Sammy

[] – The International Cricket Council (ICC) today, Monday, April 07 announced the men’s Team of the Tournament of the ICC World Twenty20 Bangladesh 2014, with two West Indians, Darren Sammy and Samuel Badree on board.

The team includes four players from India Including Captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni, two from both South Africa and West Indies, and one representative each from Australia, Netherlands and Sri Lanka.

Chosen by a select group of experts, the team is aimed at being suited for Bangladesh conditions, on the basis of performances in the tournament only. Statistics were used but were not the sole basis for selections.
According to Selection Panel Chairman and member of the Emirates Elite Panel of ICC Match Referees, David Boon, the Selection was an arduous one for his team.

Samuel Badree
Samuel Badree

 “It was a very difficult task for the panel to pick a team of 11 from the exciting players who featured in this tournament. As the selection criteria for the Team of the Tournament are the performances of players in the conditions during the ICC World Twenty20 2014, some of the best players in world cricket had to be left out of the team,” said the ICC panelist.
“Bowlers in particular performed strongly throughout this tournament, and the side we have selected includes three of the most impressive bowlers in Dale Steyn, Badree and Lasith Malinga.  The team also contains six specialist batsmen, including Stephan Myburgh from the Netherlands as an opening batsman, as well as three all-rounders, including MS Dhoni as a wicket-keeper batsman.”  
At the top of the order are India’s Rohit Sharma and Myburgh, while India’s Virat Kholi is number Three, South Africa’s Jean Paul Duminy and Australia’s Glen Maxwell at number 6.

The list goes on with Dhoni, Sammy and India’s Ravichandran Aswhin, South Africa’s Steyn, Badree and Malinga While Krishmar Santokie was named as the 12th Player.

Independent jury that selected the Men’s Team included Boon and Marais Erasmus of the Emirates Elite Panel of ICC Umpires, former Pakistan captain Wasim Akram, ex-England captain Nasser Hussain, former West Indies fast bowler Ian Bishop and Utpal Shuvro, one of Bangladesh’s senior-most cricket correspondents.



This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.