Brigadier Gary Beaton to head new Sea and River Defence Board

Gary Beaton

The Sea and River Defence Board has been constituted and gazetted for a period of one year, with Brigadier Gary Beaton at the helm as Chairman.

The other directors include Captain Stephen Thomas, Mr. Kevin Samad, Mr. Jermaine Braithwaite, Mr. Tom Singh, Mr. Rawle Aaron, Ms. Heide Gillette, Mr. Arnold Adams, Mr. Ayube Ishaan, Mr. Desmond Morian, Mr. Rion Peters, Mr. David Armogan, Mr. Sherwyn Greaves, Mr. Lionel Woodsworth and Mr. Michael Hudson.

A representative each from the Private Sector and Civil Defence Commissions will also sit on the Board.

Additionally, the Ministry of Local Government and Regional Development will nominate a representative for the Board.

The new board members have been gazetted at a critical juncture of Guyana’s development where the Government is focusing on strengthening the country’s sea defence.

The Board will work under the purview of the Guyana Sea Defence Department following its installation by Minister of Public Works, Bishop Juan Edghill.