World T20: Virat Kohli named captain of ICC’s Team of the Tournament

India may not have gone past the semi-finals of the ICC World Twenty20 but two of their players were selected in the Team of the Tournament.

Virat Kohli in action during the ICC World T20. (AP Photo)

India stars Virat Kohli and Ashish Nehra were named in the International Cricket Council’s team of the tournament a day after the West Indies lifted the World T20 trophy for a record second time.

Kohli was named player of the tournament for his 273 runs from five matches, including three fifties against Pakistan, Australia and West Indies. Nehra, who had last played international cricket in India during the 2011 World Cup, was outstanding with the new ball and in the death. The left-arm seamer picked five wickets and conceded less than six runs an over through the five matches.

team iccKohli, not surprisingly, was named captain of the star-studded team. He was the talk of the tournament for his temperament and consistency.

England’s Jason Roy and South Africa’s Quinton de Kock were named openers in the team, while Joe Root, who finished as the second-highest run-scorer with 249 was slotted in at No.4, after Kohli. Another Englishman, Jos Buttler, was also included in the side as the wicketkeeper.

Australian all-rounder Shane Watson, who called time on his career, also found a place in the team. Explosive West Indian all-rounder Andre Russell was the other all-rounder and he was named to bat at No.7.

New Zealand’s Mitchell Santner and West Indian Samuel Badree are the only two spinners to make the cut while Nehra and England’s David Willey were the two specialist pacers.

Bangladesh pacer Mustafizur Rahman, who finished with nine wickets from the tournament, was named the 12th man. (India Today)


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.