Windies name unchanged squad for Barbados Test


WIwin[] – West Indies selectors have predictably named an unchanged 14-man squad for the decisive third Test against New Zealand starting at Kensington Oval in Barbados next Thursday.

The Caribbean side won the second Test at Queen’s Park Oval by 10 wickets on Friday, to level the three-match series 1-1.

Denesh Ramdin, in his first series as Test captain, believes West Indies can now go on to win the final Test and take the series, and has called for support from the Barbadian fans.

“It is very important that we stay patient, stay humble, and hungry as well for success and go out there and play hard cricket,” Ramdin said, looking forward to the final Test.

“Hopefully people will come out and support the team. It takes five days to win a match, not just one day so hopefully we can get good support … and give a good account of ourselves.”

Friday’s victory came just a week after the hosts were thrashed by 186 runs inside four days in the opening Test at Sabina Park.

However, they quickly made changes, axing Marlon Samuels and Kieran Powell and including Jermaine Blackwood and Kraigg Brathwaite in the final XI. Brathwaite hit his maiden Test century while debutant Blackwood stroked a half-century, to help set up the win.

SQUAD – Denesh Ramdin (captain), Sulieman Benn, Jermaine Blackwood, Kraigg Brathwaite, Darren Bravo, Shiv Chanderpaul, Kirk Edwards, Shannon Gabriel, Chris Gayle, Jason Holder, Leon Johnson, Shane Shillingford, Kemar Roach, Jerome Taylor.



This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.