Taylor, Dottin and Daley among ICC Awardees

Stefanie Taylor
Stefanie Taylor

[www.inewsguyana.com]West Indies Female Cricket Stefanie Taylor has been shortlisted for ICC Women’s ODI Cricketer of the Year following a release from the West Indies Cricket Board.

The all rounder who had a massive year for the Maroon caps is joined on the lists by New Zealand captain Suzie Bates, Australia’s Meg Lanning, South Africa’s Dane van Niekerk and the England pair of Charlotte Edwards and Anya Shrubsole.

Taylor, Bates and Lanning also feature in the short-list for the ICC Women’s T20I Cricketer of the Year, along with England’s Sarah Taylor and the West Indies duo of Shanel Daley and Deandra Dottin.

Meanwhile England’s James Anderson, South Africa’s Hashim Amla and Australia Captain Michael Clarke have all been short-listed for the top honors at this year’s LG sponsored Awards 2013.

The three cricketers have been short-listed for both the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for the ICC Cricketer of the Year and the ICC Test Cricketer of the Year, with the awards to be announced in a TV show that will be broadcast on 14 December.

The votes for the LG ICC Awards 2013 short-lists have now been cast by the independent, 32-person voting academy*, and these three men, alongside England captain Alastair Cook, India captain MS Dhoni and Sri Lanka’s Kumar Sangakkara  are the nominees in the running to receive the prestigious Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy.

Also featuring in the short-list for the ICC Test Cricketer of the Year Award alongside Anderson, Amla and Clarke are Dale Steyn of South Africa and the Indian duo of Ravichandran Ashwin and Cheteshwar Pujara.

The LG ICC Awards shortlists, which were announced today in Mumbai by ICC Chief Executive David Richardson, see 12 different ICC Members represented across the categories for the top individual prizes in international cricket.

Both Sangakkara and Dhoni also feature in the short-list for the ICC ODI Cricketer of the Year, which also includes the Pakistan duo of Saeed Ajmal and Misbah ul-Haq, as well as the Indian pair of Shikhar Dhawan and Ravindra Jadeja.

The Twenty20 International (T20I) Performance of the year sees Sri Lanka’s Ajantha Mendis being short-listed alongside Pakistan’s Umar Gul and New Zealanders Martin Guptill and Brendon McCullum.

This year’s LG ICC Awards includes 11 individual prizes, including the LG People’s Choice Award.

The long-lists of nominations for each award were put together by a five-person ICC selection panel, before a 32-member voting academy trimmed the nominees to the short-lists announced today.

The ICC selection panel was chaired by former India captain and current chairman of the ICC Cricket Committee Anil Kumble.

The panel also includes former internationals Alec Stewart of England, Catherine Campbell of New Zealand, Waqar Younis of Pakistan and Graeme Pollock of South Africa, while the academy comprises highly credentialed cricket personalities from around the world*, and include a host of former players, respected members of the media as well as representatives of the Emirates Elite Panels of ICC Umpires and ICC Match Referees.



This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.