Sport Minister signs agreement for hosting of CPL matches



AgreementSign w[] – The Government of Guyana through the Ministry of Culture, Youth and Sports yesterday signed the Host Venue Agreement with the Limacol Caribbean Premier League (LCPL) to confirm the hosting of Guyana’s three matches of the tournament schedule to be played at the National Stadium Providence.

Speaking at the signing, Sport Minister Dr. Frank Anthony said that the Government of Guyana is happy to be a part of the tournament since last year’s was a success.

He further stated that T20 cricket has changed the cricket world beyond recognition. The matches slated for Guyana are the Amazon Warriors against Trinidad Red Steel on July 17, Amazon Warriors against St. Lucia Zouks on July 19 and Amazon Warriors against Jamaica Tallawahs on July 20.

The team retained ten players from last year those are Trinidadian Sunil Narine, Lendl Simmons and Denesh Ramdin the others are Pakistan Mohammad Hafeez, New Zealand Martin Guptill, Jamaican Krishmar Santokie and over very own Christopher Barnwell, Steven Jacobs, Veerasammy Permaul and Trevon Griffith.

New Zealand Corey Anderson has named the team international franchise player, the new comers are Guyanese Leon Johnson, Ronsford Beaton, Robin Bacchus, Kevin Paul, Tagenarine Chanderpaul, Daniel Basdeo and Kemo Paul, Trinidadian Navin Stewart has also been named.

The first match of the tournament is Guyana Amazon Warriors against Antigua Hawksbills on July 11 in St. Georges Grenada.



This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.