Sony Pictures network to broadcast HERO CPL in 6 countries



Sony Pictures Sports Network (SPSN) that comprises of India’s premier sports channels, has bagged the exclusive broadcasting rights to the highly anticipated Hero Caribbean Premier League (CPL).

The league that has a bevy of cricket stars like Chris Gayle, Kieron Pollard, Brendon McCullum and Dwayne Bravo, will commence on 4th August 2017 and culminate on 9th September 2017. The league will be broadcast live in the Indian sub-continent including countries such as Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Bhutan Nepal and Maldives, besides India. The network has also acquired the digital rights for the tournament and will live stream the matches in Afghanistan over and above these six countries on its digital platform, SonyLIV.

The tournament will be held across six scenic venues in the Caribbean and for the second time the fixtures will be played in Lauderhill, Florida, USA. This year the teams will include the likes of Jamaica Tallawahs, Trinbago Knight Riders, Tridents – Pride of Barbados, Guyana Amazon Warriors, St. Lucia Stars and St. Kitts & Nevis Patriots, all battling it out in an initial group stage format before progressing to the knock out matches.

The opening match of the league will see St. Lucia Stars take on the Trinbago Knight Riders to be held at the Daren Sammy National Cricket Stadium (named after the St. Lucia Stars captain) on 4th August at 6:30 a.m. only on SONY ESPN. The game that day will see the likes of Brendon McCullum, Sunil Narine, Dwayne Bravo, Shane Watson and Daren Sammyhimself battle it out at the stadium. The remaining matches will be televised on SONY SIX & SONY SIX HD. (CPL)


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.