Shannon Gabriel suspended from Mirpur Test

Shannon Gabriel celebrates with his team-mates (AFP photo)

West Indies fast bowler Shannon Gabriel has received a one-Test suspension from the ICC, following an incident in the Chattogram Test wherein he made physical contact with Bangladesh’s Imrul Kayes. This means Gabriel will not be available for the second Test of the series, which will be played in Mirpur form November 30.

In the eighth over in Chattogram, Gabriel and Kayes made shoulder contact while the bowler was in his follow-through. This happened as the batsman was looking for a single on the leg side and didn’t have the bowler in his line of vision. Gabriel was warned by Aleem Dar but, in his next over, the 10th of the innings, he appeared to have nudged Kayes’ shoulder again, which was accompanied by a verbal exchange between the two.

Gabriel received two demerit points – and was fined 30% of his match fee – for the incident, taking his tally of demerit points to five. He had picked up three demerit points during the Jamaica Test against Pakistan in April 2017. Then, too, Gabriel had made contact with a batsman, in that case Sarfraz Ahmed at the non-striker’s end while collecting his cap from the umpire.

As per ICC regulations, if a player reaches a tally of four demerit points within a 24-month period, he or she receives a suspension. Each point stays on the player’s record for 24 months from the date of sanctioning, and suspensions are handed out when four, eight or 12 points are aggregated. That means that if Gabriel receives three more demerit points for any reason before April 2019 – which is when his Jamaica transgressions will be wiped from his record – he will receive a longer suspension. The two demerit points he has received for the latest incident will stay on his record till November 2020.

An ICC statement said Gabriel admitted the offence and accepted the sanction proposed by match referee David Boon, so there was no formal hearing. The charge against him was brought by the match’s umpires, Aleem Dar, Richard Illingworth, Ruchira Palliyaguruge and Masudur Rahman. (ESPNCricinfo)


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.