Sangakkara ends tournament jinx; retires with world T20 Title



The Sri Lankan players celebrate with the World T20 trophy
The Sri Lankan players celebrate with the World T20 trophy

[] – Sri Lanka is the champions of the Cricketing world in T20 format. Having gone to four successive finals only to be disappointed, it took a special effort for the Lankans to cart off their first trophy in five consecutive finals.

The six wicket win over India crowned off the career of two of the greatest batsmen in the world: Kumar Sangakkara and Mahela Jayawardene.

Sangakkara, who has retired from the T20 format, clobbered his way to 59 off 39 balls to lead his side home in a fitting display of seniority to hand the side a much deserved win.

Chasing down 131 – one of the lowest scores in a finals – the Sri Lankans were set on the back foot by the loss of Kusal Perera for five and Telekaratne Dilshan for 18 but the retiring pair of Jayawardene, who held down the end and Sangakkara, assisted them home.

Mohit Sharma, Ravichanrdan Ashwin and Suresh Raina’s one wicket each were not enough to quell Sri Lankan celebrations.

Eariler, 77 from 75 balls off the bat of Vhirat Kholi and 29 from 41 balls off of Rohit Sharma led India to 130 for 4 while Nuwan Kulsekera, Angelo Matthews and Lasith Malinga had one each.



This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.