Police Service Commission Members sworn in



By Tracey Khan – Drakes

POLICE[www.inewsguyana.com] – Memebers of the Police Service Commission (PSC) were today [Thursday, September 04] sworn in by President Donald Ramotar.

The newly appointed five member team has already appointed Omesh Satyanand as its Chairman; the other members include Carvil Duncan, Lloyd Smith, Keith John and Harold Martin.

Taking their oath before the President, Home Affairs Minister Clement Rohee, Police Commissioner Seelall Persaud and other Government officials, the members promised to execute their function to the best of their abilities.

President Ramotar expressed his satisfaction with the final formation of this important Body. According to the President, he made a promise to the police ranks at the last officer’s conference that this Commission would be in place.

The Commission’s Chairman explained that their work would have to be prioritized, however, did not state what would be the first order of business.

He explained that the Commission would met shortly with the Secretary who will advise them on the way forward so that they can move ahead and work in the interest of the force.

The Police Commissioner is responsible for promotions and disciplinary action from constable to sergeant while the PSC does so from Inspector to Assistant Commissioner.



This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.