PNC tries to contain firestorm over MPs selection; now says ‘youth’ a major criterion

L-R: Geeta Chandan-Edmond, Roysdale Forde, Tabitha Sarabo-Halley, Ganesh Mahipaul, Coretta McDonald

Amid a major strife within the party over the selection of the new parliamentarians, the Peoples National Congress Reform (PNC/R) has issued a statement contending that “youth” was a major criterion in the decisions taken.

Young PNC politician James Bond took to social media to blast the party for excluding certain members, including himself, from serving as a Member of Parliament in the 12th Parliament.

Bond criticised that PNC and its current leadership for not consulting with the party’s membership before making its decision on the parliamentarians.

But the PNC, in a statement on Tuesday, stated that it is time to rebuild the party.

The party, however, failed to directly address the concerns raised by Bond who threatened to challenge the current PNC leadership.

Among the names excluded from the list of parliamentarians are Volda Lawrence, Basil Williams, Amna Ally, Aubrey Norton, George Norton, and Simona Broomes. The party’s leader, former president David Granger will also not be returning to parliament.

L-R: James Bond and David Granger

See full list of APNU/AFC parliamentarians:


Juretha Fernandes
Cathy Hughes
Sherod Duncan
David Patterson
Haimraj Rajkumar
Khemraj Ramjattan
Deonarine Ramsaroop
Devin Sears
Raphael Trotman


Geeta Chandan-Edmond
Dr. Karen Cummings
Annette Ferguson
Nima Flue-Bess
Tabitha Sarabo-Halley
Dawn Hastings-Williams
Dr. Nicolette Henry
Coretta McDonald
Maureen Philadelphia
Natasha Singh-Lewis
Amanza Walton-Desir
Ronald Cox
Jermaine Figuiera
Roysdale Forde
Joseph Harmon
Vincent Henry
Shurwayne Holder
Dineshwar Jaipersaud
Christopher Jones
Vinceroy Jordan
Ganesh Mahipal
Richard Sinclair