New Public Service Commission sworn-in

President David Granger and members of the Public Service Commission

President David Granger on Wednesday swore-in the six members of the new Public Service Commission (PSC).

The new members are: Michael Somersaul (Chairman); Mavis Benn; Vincent Bowman; Geeta Chandan-Edmond: Morris; Gajadar and Mortimer Livan.

They were appointed in accordance with Article 200 (1) of the Constitution following meaningful consultations with Opposition Leader Dr Bharrat Jagdeo.

As per law, the National Assembly’s Standing Committee on Appointments nominated Bowman and Livan while the Head of State selected three of the nominees, and the sixth member appointed “acting in accordance with his own deliberate judgment.”

The life of the previous PSC ended last year and according to President Granger, the role of the Public Service in any country is critical to economic development.

“Guyana’s development demands on efficient and professional public service. Public servants are essential to a country’s administration… Citizens’ access to public service… requires the existence of an impartial public service. Such a service should be committed to implement the policies and programmes of the executive and to ensuring that the delivery of services to all Guyanese continues regardless of the political party in office,” the Head of State posited.

Meanwhile, Chairman of the newly appointed PSC, Michael Somersall, related his elation at being appointed a member, saying that the Commission members will soon be meeting to strategise their working plan going forward.

There appointments will last for a period of three years.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.