Jamaica Tallawahs confirm home CPL fixtures for 2016 season


The Jamaica Tallawahs have confirmed their home fixtures for the forthcoming HERO Caribbean Premier League (CPL) campaign and will begin their block of four home matches in Sabina Park against Guyana Amazon Warriors in a night game on Friday, 15 July.

cpl1The Tallawahs, who will this year boast once more local favourites Chris Gayle, Andre Russell as well as international stars of the calibre of Bangladesh all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan, South Africa’s Dale Steyn and Sri Lanka great Kumar Sangakkara in their ranks, will also play back-to-back fixtures against the Zouks in the Central Broward Stadium in Fort Lauderdale, with the home game set to complete the USA leg of CPL before the start of the play-offs.

Looking ahead to the CPL season, Manish Patel, Co-owner and Managing Director Jamaica Tallawahs, said: “Reflecting on last year’s electric atmosphere at home, we’re very much looking forward to once again defending Sabina Park and excite our passionate public with some strong performances. Our fans will enjoy watching the world-class established players, as well as the emerging local talent which includes the raw talent of Rovman Powell, who is the wildcard in our 2016 squad. In addition, O’shane Thomas will no doubt excite those who have not seen him perform on the field.

“We’re also extremely excited to bring the unique entertainment value, that is Caribbean Premier League, to Central Broward Stadium in Fort Lauderdale, and we know that we can count on some outstanding support by the wider Jamaican public both at home and on the road this summer.”

Meanwhile, Paul Nixon has been confirmed as the Tallawahs Head Coach and the Englishman will be assisted by Mark O’Donnell.

“We are proud to formally announce Paul Nixon as our Head Coach”, said Mohammad Khan, General Manager of Jamaica Tallawahs. “Paul was one of many outstanding candidates interviewed by the Tallawahs but, in the end, we believe that Paul alongside our Captain Chris Gayle is best suited to take the franchise forward into the 2016 CPL season”.

Nixon added: “It’s great to be on board again I’m very excited about the journey ahead. The squad that has been gathered ticks every box and now it’s time to create some spirit and get an emotional buy-in from everyone. When we get our thinking right and keep calm in the big moments then we can make some magical memories for us all that will stay forever.”

Jamaica Tallawahs Fixtures (all times local): 15 July – Guyana Amazon Warriors (8pm), 16 July – St Kitts & Nevis Patriots (6pm), 18 July – Trinbago Knight Riders (8pm), 20 July – Barbados Tridents (8pm).

JAMAICA TALLAWAHS: Chris Gayle, Kumar Sangakkara, Shakib Al Hasan, Andre Russell, Imad Wasim, Dale Steyn, Rovman Powell, Chadwick Walton, Jon-Russ Jaggesar, Andre McCarthy, Jonathan Foo, Alex Ross, Kesrick Williams, Nkrumah Bonner, Garey Mathurin, Timroy Allen, O’shane Thomas


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.