Jagdeo takes top spot in PPP’s internal elections



Applause and cheers were sounded across the Congress Hall, Cotton Field Secondary School, when it was clear who took the top spot in the internal elections for the People’s Progressive Party (PPP) Central Committee.
Delegates and observers were on their feet cheering for Opposition Leader, Dr Bharrat Jagdeo, who took the top spot with a lead of almost 100 votes, ahead of Dr Frank Anthony, who came second.
Opposition Chief Whip, Gail Teixeira, landed an impressive third with only 37 votes separating her from the second spot.
DSC_0160The top-10 voted into the PPP Central Committee are:
1. Dr. Bharrat Jagdeo2. Dr. Frank Anthony

3. Gail Teixeira

4. Donald Ramotar

5. Anil Nandlall

6. Clement Rohee

7. Ganga Persaud

8. Irfaan Ali

9. Zulfikar Mustapha

10. Shyam Nokta

As part of the People’s Progressive Party (PPP) 31st Congress, internal elections were held for 35 Central Committee members.

Voting was also done for five candidate (non-voting) members. There was a tie for the fifth spot, which is expected to be resolved by the new Central Committee. The new candidate members are: Ramkarran Kissoon, Edward Casimero, Vania Albert and Jagnarine Somwar, while Fidel John and Humace Oodit are tied for the fifth place.

The results were read by Head of the Credentials Committee, Robeson Benn.

The PPP’s 31st Congress ends today. It was held under the theme: ‘Strengthen the Party; Defend Democracy; Onwards to Victory.


  1. PPP/c just got handed their second loss for government. Jagdeo will bring that party down mark my words. This is good news for the APNU/AFC Go Jagdeo go.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.