Jagdeo elected new General Secretary of PPP

Dr Bharat Jagdeo
Dr Bharat Jagdeo

Leader of the Opposition Dr Bharat Jagdeo has today been elected as the new General Secretary (GS) of the People’s Progressive Party (PPP), replacing former GS and Central Committee Member Clement Rohee.

The recently elected Central Committee of the PPP are currently in a meeting at Freedom House, Robb Street, Georgetown, voting for the party’s Executive Committee.

With the GS position out of the way, the selection of the  Executive body, comprising of 15 members and three candidate members should be underway.

The candidate members will have all rights except voting powers. Also, today the members will elect the Party’s secretaries who will form its secretariat.

The Central Committee was elected at the Party’s recently concluded 31st Congress held at Cotton Field, Essequibo Coast in December.

The most important aspect of this meeting today will be the fact that those elected on the Executive Committee will wield authority in the PPP until it is successful at winning future elections.

Those elected to the 35-seat Central Committee are: Bharrat Jagdeo with 718 votes; Dr Frank Anthony with 620 votes; Gail Teixeira with 583 votes; Donald Ramotar with 570; Anil Nandlall with 548; Clement Rohee with 522; Ganga Persaud with 512; Irfaan Ali with 511 votes; Zulfikar Mustapha, with 496 votes; Shyam Nokta with 495; Indra Chandarpal with 490; Dr Roger Luncheon with 488; Pauline Sukhai with 460; Nigel Dharamlall with 453 votes; Dr Vindiya Persaud with 439 votes; Hydar Ally with 422; and Vickram Bharrat with 408.

Also making the Central Committee cut are Dharankumar Seeraj with 393; Komal Chand with 378; Collin Croal with 360; Alister Charlie with 356; Brian Allicock with 326; Neil Kumar with 321 votes; David Armogan with 317 votes; Jennifer Westford with 304 votes; Vishwa Mahadeo with 289; Clinton Collymore with 287; Kwame McCoy with 281 votes; Dr Bheri Ramsaran with 278; Faizal Jaffaraly with 277; Majeed Hussain with 267 votes; Rickey Ramdat with 260 votes; Claire Singh with 255; Anand Persaud with 242; and Mitra Devi Ally with 230 votes.

Former President Donald Ramotar had relinquished his post as General Secretary, a position that is usually bestowed to the party’s leader, to Rohee, as he wanted to concentrate  more on his presidential duties at the time.


  1. I wan to know when are they seriously going to start investigating this weasel. He keeps poking his head out of every hole. Somebody’s not doing something right!

  2. This is the beginning of the end for the PPP in the next election. You guys have just made yourselves the dumbest move in 2017.

    You have shown how short sighted you are.

    What part of damaged goods do you not understand about BJ. He cannot legally run in the next election.

    You guys are pathetic


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.