Guyanese riders impress in Tobago


Despite representing various teams, Guyanese riders turned out exceptional performances in the opening stage of Tobago International Cycle Classic (TICC) Tour of Tobago on Wednesday in Tobago.

File photo: Raynauth Jeffrey
File photo: Raynauth Jeffrey

Team Coco’s Raynauth Jeffrey finished second in the under 25 years category in Division One while Jeban Crawford representing PSL Cycling team won the Division Two category ahead of his countryman Andrew Hicks also of PSL who was also the top under-19 rider.

Division One, which stretches a distance of 120km (10 laps) saw Dutchman Aron Van Der Zwet of PSL Cycling Club riding in first in a time of 2 hrs 25 min 50.68 sec followed by countryman Nick Stopler (PSL) in a time of 2:26.07.57. Ishmael Sanchez of the Dominican Republic (Team Foundation) was third in a time of 2:26.09.50.

The Top T&T finisher was Adam Alexander (Team Foundation) was sixth.

In the Under 25 category, it was Sebatian Caicedo of Colombia who rode in ahead of Guyanese Raynauth  Jeffrey and Trinidadian Tyler Cole in third.

Cole won the Division Two title in 2015.

Meanwhile, in Division Two which covered a distance of 60km over five laps, Guyanese Jeban Crawford (PSL) finished in a time of 1 hr 25 min 34.822 sec ahead of Andrew Hicks (Guyana/PSL) 1:25.35.898 and Jabari Whiteman (T&T/Southclaine) 1:25.49.503.

In the Under-19 Category it was another Guyanese, Andrew Hicks (PSL) who rode in first followed by Romello Crawford (T&T/PSL) and Lorenzo Orosco (T&T/Breakaway) in second and third respectively.

The results of the other categories are;

Top Under 17: Jabari Whiteman (T&T/Southclaine), 2nd Kyle Gill (Barbados/Team Massy), 3rd Enrique de Comarmond (T&T/Heatway

Ladies Open: Desiree Ehler (Switzerland/Team Eleven), 2nd Sofie Mangertseder (Germany/Team Eleven), 3rd Christiane Farah (T&T/PSL)

Masters 40-49: 1st Mark Hosein (T&T/Breakaway), 2nd Brent hurdle (T&T/Breakaway), 3rd Marlon Choo Ying (T&T/PSL)

Masters 50-59: 1st Birk Tidd (T&T/Knights FR), 2nd Stephen Aboud (T&T/Team Pharmaco), 3rd Ronald Crooks (T&T/Team Foundation)

Masters 60 plus: 1st Foster Francois (T&T/PSL), 2nd Codrington Joefield (T&T/PSL)

This is the 30th edition of the Tour of Tobago and the action will continue until Sunday.





This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.