Guyana up for Windward challenge


[]Guyana will be looking to continue the explosive start to the NAGICO West Indies Cricket Board 50 Over tournament when they come face to face with defending champions Windward Islands.

The Guyanese unit, one of the stronger units according to cricket pundits will engage the defending champions on Tuesday (January 4) in a day night fixture.

Following their 114 run win over Ireland, the local unit is riding on a high having defeated a team that most consider one of the strongest among the affiliates of the International Cricket Council.

The side which showcased a solid opening stance with the level headed pair of Shivnarine Chanderpaul and Trevon Griffith boasts a very experienced batting line up.

The duo is teamed up with the likes of Ramnaresh Sarwan who has found a grove in the Queens Park Oval after a slobber knocker of a batting display against Ireland (89).

He is joined in the batting department by the likes of Leon Jhonson and Anthony Bramble, as well as no nonsense all rounders Christopher Barnwell and Narsingh Deonarine, makes for a deep batting line up.

Their bowling is by no means is a push over with the likes of Ransford Beaton and Paul Wintz steaming into the attack, with sharp cutters and gentle movements each of their own variance, making Ireland look like school yard batsmen on Friday evening.

The windward’s, who are yet to make a start are without charismatic captain Darren Sammy and are already a match down.

The West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) yesterday advised that batsman Kirk Edwards has been withdrawn from the Barbados team for the NAGICO Super50 tournament. The decision was made by the Barbados Cricket Association (BCA) on Saturday.

There will be no replacement for Edwards.
Barbados played their opening Zone B match against Trinidad & Tobago at Queen’s Park Oval last night.
The NAGICO Super50 started on January 30 and runs until February 15. Matches are being played at the historic Queen’s Park Oval in Port-of-Spain and the picturesque Shaw Park in Tobago.
The champions will take home the Clive Lloyd Trophy – named in honour of the legendary captain of the 1975 and 1979 World Cup winning team.



This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.