Guyana not among major Caribbean drug transit countries named by Obama


drug-bust[] – The United States has named four Caribbean Community (CARICOM) countries among several Latin America and Caribbean major drug transit and or major illicit drug producing countries.

President Barack Obama named Belize, Jamaica, Haiti and the Bahamas as the CARICOM countries. Guyana, though it has had its fair share of criticism in fighting the narcotics trade, was not listed niether among the Caribbean or Latin American Countries. 

A White House statement said that a country’s presence on the list is not a reflection of its government’s counternarcotics efforts or level of cooperation with the United States.

But it said that the reason major drug transit or illicit drug producing countries are placed on the list is the combination of geographic, commercial, and economic factors that allow drugs to transit or be produced, even if a government has carried out the most assiduous narcotics control law enforcement measures.

The other countries listed in the White House statement are Afghanistan, Bolivia, Burma, Colombia, Costa Rica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, India, Laos, Mexico, Nicaragua, Pakistan, Panama, Peru, and Venezuela. (Caribbean 360)



This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.