Guyana Amazon Warriors wins Jubilee parade award


 The Guyana Amazon Warriors were among those awarded for their extraordinary performance at the float parade to mark Guyana’s 50th independence anniversary.

In a night of high achievements, the Amazon Warriors topped their group in the category of large Semi-Costume designed by Jermaine Broomes.

With rags, flags and heavy rhythm, those on the Amazon Warriors truck gained loud cheers and support from the gyrating revellers, as the truck drove along the parade route on Independence day (May 26).

Christopher Barnwell, Paul Wintz,  Stephen Jacobs, Devendra Bishoo, Veerasammy Permaul, Assad Fudadin, Anthony Bramble and Coach Roger Harper, were among those who gyrated with the Warriors in the parade.

The Amazon Warriors band was one of the first among the 39 floats to take to the streets, accompanied by a booming version of the Amazon Warriors theme song, as onlookers joined in and gyrated down the streets. The floats were brilliantly decorated, and displayed the amazing talent and creativity of local designers, adding to the pulsating carnival-like atmosphere.

jubilee award







Minster within the Ministry of Education Nicolette Henry (left) presenting the winning trophy to Guyana Amazon Warriors representative, Faye Smartt-Scott, at the awards ceremony Friday night

The awards ceremony was hosted by the National Commemoration Commission under the Education Ministry’s Department of Culture, Youth and Sport, at the National Cultural Centre on Friday evening.

Present at the event were Prime Minister Moses Nagamootoo, Minister within the Finance Ministry Jaipaul Sharma and Minster within the Ministry of Education Nicolette Henry, who played an integral part in the Jubilee celebrations.

Delivering remarks at the event, Minister Henry highlighted the impact the celebrations had, not only on locals, but the vast number of people who travelled to Guyana’s shores to be a part of Guyana’s 50th independence anniversary.

Minister Henry also thanked Television Guyana, Channel 28 (TVG) and the  National Communications Network (NCN) for their integral role in bringing the celebrations into the homes of thousands who could not join in the float parade on the streets of Georgetown.

Meanwhile, the Amazon Warriors will come out under new Captain, New Zealand’s destructive top order batsman Martin Guptil, who has been with the Amazon Warriors since the inaugural tournament in 2013.

The Amazon Warriors will be hosting the inaugural winners Jamaica Tallawahs on July 7 (19:00hrs), the St Kitts and Nevis Patriots (12:00 noon), defending champions Trinbago Knight Riders (19:00hrs) and the St Lucia Zouks (19:00hrs) at the Guyana National Stadium at Providence, East Bank Demerara.


Below are a few scenes of the Amazon Warriors float on Guyana’s 50th  independence anniversary celebrations





This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.