GECOM, Govt discuss elections preparations


The Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM) and representatives of the coalition government are currently engaged in talks on the preparations for elections.

Earlier in the week, GECOM meet with a delegation from the Opposition. Opposition Leader Bharrat Jagdeo informed media operatives afterwards that GECOM Chair’s Justice Claudette Singh had committed to elections before the end of the year.

Present at today’s meeting are Volda Lawrence, Amna Ally, Basil Williams, Cathy Hughes, Tabitha Sarbo- Halley, Sydney Allicock, Keith Scott, David Patterson, and Jaipaul Sharma.