Forde wins South American 10k

Cleveland Forde makes his way to the finish line. [iNews' Photo]


Cleveland Forde makes his way to the finish line. [iNews' Photo]
Cleveland Forde makes his way to the finish line. [iNews’ Photo]
[] – Guyana’s “Little Kenyan” Cleveland Forde easily won yet another South American 10k title on Sunday, October 26, which finished inside the National Park.

Forde clocked a speedy time of 32:27.39s to win the event while outfoxing Trinidad’s Richard Jones who clocked 32:39.21s.

Cleveland Thomas was third with a time of 32:56.25s while Trinidad-based Guyanese, Kelvin Johnson was fourth in 33:21.28s. Nathaniel Giddings filled out the top five finishers with a time of 33:24.43s.

The race started slower than usual as Giddings, Thomas, Jones, Forde, Johnson, Jones and Horatio formed the lead group after the first kilometre.

At the turning point around Turkeyen, the race was further broken down to just five athletes around the 5k mark with Johnson leading the way followed by Thomas, Giddings, Jones and Forde.

As Giddings and Johnson faded at the Russian embassy, Jones took over the lead before Forde made his move just in front of the Guyana Defence Force (GDF) ground.

Meanwhile, on the distaff side, Trinidad’s Tonya Nero led from start to finish winning the event in 37:35.46s while finishing ahead of American based Guyanese Euleen Josiah-Tanner who clocked 39:39.18s for second.

Tonya Nero eases for the finish. [iNews' Photo]
Tonya Nero eases for the finish. [iNews’ Photo]
Guyana’s Alika Morgan was third in a time of 40:05.39s, outrunning Andrea Foster who finished fourth in 40:22.68s. Jenelle Nedd of Trinidad took fifth in 41:21.89s.

Alisha Fortune won the women’s masters category in a time of 50:16.28s, finishing ahead of Cyrleen Phillips who clocked 50:24.89s for second to leave Carla Benjamin picking up the slacks in third with a time of 50:44.25s.

The men’s 40-55 masters age category was won by Ian Archibald in a time of 37:12.86s while Ravi Purohit won the men’s master 56 and over in a time of 46:13.31s.

The junior male category was won by Matthew McKenzie who clocked 35:29.68s for the win to finish ahead of his brother Carl McKenzie who clocked 36:25.28s for second. Leon Benjamin was third in a time of 39:22.46s.

Mariah McKenzie won the female junior category in 43:13.96s while Shontel Hinds took second in 45:06.89s. Cassie Kirton finished third in 48:56.39s.

At the presentation ceremony held immediately after the race, the athletes received the trophies and prizes and were congratulated by the President of the Athletics Association of Guyana, Aubrey Hutson.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.