Anil Beharry wins BCB Presidency

The newly elected BCB Executive.
The newly elected BCB Executive.
The newly elected BCB Executive.

[] – Anil Beharry is the new President of the Berbice Cricket Board (BCB), after defeating President of the Port Mourant Cricket Club (PMCC), Vicram Suebarran at the Board’s Annual General Meeting (AGM) on Sunday, December 28.

Beharry won the Presidency 22 votes to Suebarran’s 16. Meanwhile, Dhieranidranauth Somwaru won the post of Vice-President, Qualis Winter was elected as second Vice-President and Vemen Walters as third Vice-President.

The persons elected unopposed were; Secretary Angela Haniff, Treasurer Vicky Bharosay, Assistant Secretary Plaffiana Millington and Assistant Treasurer Ricardo Bachan.

Beharry outlined three important aspects he hopes to accomplish under his stewardship as cricket at the Under-15 and 17 levels is top priority.

The focus will be on an improved school system, the hopeful return of three day cricket and finally the relationship among the clubs in Berbice.

Beharry thanked outgoing President Keith Foster for his contributions to Berbice cricket during his period. Foster was not qualified to seek re-election.

Three associations, namely; West Berbice, Berbice River and Upper Corentyne as well as 14 clubs affiliated with the BCB in Kidonan, Whim, Port Mourant, Rose Hall Town Youth and Sport Club, Albion, Chesney, Rose Hall Community Centre, Young Warriors, Bermine, Police, Mental, Mount Sinai, and Blairmont were all involved in the voting process.

According to the BCB’s constitution, the three Associations are entitled to four votes each, while the 14 clubs affiliated with the BCB are entitled to two votes each.



This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.