Anderson named Guyana’s International Franchise Player for CPL 2014



Corey Anderson
Corey Anderson

[] – New Zealander Corey Anderson has been named as the Guyana Amazon Warriors International Franchise Players following a release from the Limacol Caribbean Premier League.

The all – rounder who has caused a stir in the T20 world of International Cricket will replace Pakistani Captain Mohammed Haffeez as the International Player.

Anderson represents one of three changes in the CPL 2014 with Saeed Ajmal being taken by the Antigua Hawksbills and Brad Hodge taking the spot in the St Lucia Zouks.

From Pakistan, names like Shahid Afridi, Umar Gul, Ahmed Shehzad, Misbah-ul-Haq and 26 other countrymen are expected while returning New Zealanders James Franklin, Martin Guptill will also be on the list with 13 others including Black Caps skipper Daniel Vettori and Jesse Ryder.

Eleven Sri Lankans will go into the draft, including former captains, Kumar Sangakkara, Mahela Jayawardene and Tillakaratne Dilshan, as well as hard-hitting all-rounder, Thisara Perera, and mystery spinner, Ajantha Mendis.

Australia has the largest overseas contingent in the draft, with 32 players, including prolific batsmen, David Hussey and Adam Voges, pace bowlers, Shaun Tait and Dirk Nannes, and spinners, Brad Hogg and Xavier Doherty.

South Africa seamer, Vernon Philander is also in the draft and has brought back Herschelle Gibbs while Proteas stars, Robin Peterson and Lonwabo Tsotsobe are also listed alongside 23 other South Africans.

Simon Jones, Dimitri Mascarenhas and Owais Shah will join Kevin Pietersen from the English Diaspora while the Bangladeshi pair, Shakib Al Hasan and Tamim Iqbal, Zimbabwe spinner, Ray Price, Irish World Cup hero, Kevin O’Brien, Netherlands World T20 star, Tom Cooper, and Afghanistan captain, Mohammad Nabi are also in the Mix.

Meanwhile Nicolas Pooran and Jason Holder will join regional men in Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Tino Best, and current World T20 players, Samuel Badree, Dwayne Smith and Krishmar Santokie on the shopping list.

The draft will be held on Thursday, April 03 at Chris Gayle’s Triple Century Bar in Kingston, Jamaica and will be streamed live at

A look at the rules reminds that squads will contain 19 players, and each squad will comprise of two pre-selected players – one West Indies Franchise player (WIFP) and one International Franchise Player (IFP),

Each Franchise must have one WIFP and one IFP in their squad of 19 players, and a maximum of three additional overseas players.

Six players from each team must be registered to the local cricket board of the home territory or country of the Franchise, and be nationals of that country.



This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.