Amazon Warriors retain key players in LCPL 2014 Draft



Lendl Simmons[] – The Guyana Amazon Warriors have selected a balanced T20 team on paper for the upcoming season of the Limacol Caribbean Premier League 2014.

During the draft in Jamaica, the side retained the services of  Mohammad Hafeez, Lendl Simmons, Denesh Ramdin, Martin Guptill, Krishmar Santokie, Christopher Barnwell, Veerasammy Permaul, Ronsford Beaton, Steven Jacobs and Trevon Griffith.

A formidable batting side with Simmons and Guptill were the warriors last year with Hafeez not quite getting off the ground and Barnwell playing the role of pinch hitter and Corey Anderson’s addition leaves nothing more to be desired.

The bowling department has very little flaws with the spin of Narine and Permaul as well as Hafeez whose part time spin was heavily utilized in the 2013 season makes a sensation of turn coupled with the darting deliveries that Griffith and Jacobs are able to produce.

The pace line up of Santokie and Ransford will lend to an aggressive accurate start which proves a key part of winning a T20 game in any conditions while the support of Simmons and Barnwell’s medium pace

New comers include, Navin Stewart, Leon Johnson and  Robin Bacchus.

The defending champions, the Jamaican Tallawahs have Chris Gayle, Andre Russell, Ahmed Shehzad, Adam Voges, Nikita Miller, Jerome Taylor, Rusty Theron, Chadwick Walton, David Bernard Jr, Andrew Richardson, Carlton Baugh Jr, Jermaine Blackwood, Nkrumah Bonner and Odean Brown.Cpl Team

The Antigua Hawksbills comprises Marlon Samuels, Sheldon Cotterell, David Hussey, Thisara Perera, Carlos Braithwaite, Kieron Powell, Devon Thomas, Ben Laughlin, Orlando Peters, Danza Hyatt, Miguel Cummings, Gavin Tonge, Justin Athanaze and Rakheem Cornwall.

The Barbados Tridents have Kieron Pollard, Dwayne Smith, Shakib Al Hasan, Ravi Rampaul, Jason Holder, Neil McKenzie, Rayad Emrit, Ashley Nurse, Imran Nazir, Jonathon Carter, Shane Dowrich, Raymond Reifer, Akeal Hossein and Kyle Mayers.

The St Lucia Zouks’ have Darren Sammy, Kevin Pietersen, Johnson Charles, Sohail Tanvir, Andre Fletcher, Shane Shillingford, Roelof Van der Merwe, Garey Mathurin, Keddy Lesporis, Tino Best, Mervin Matthews, Sunil Ambris, Tonito Willet and Liam Sebastian.

The Trinidad and Tobago Red Steel’s players are Dwayne Bravo, Darren Bravo, Samuel Badree, Sulieman Benn, Kevon Cooper, Nasir Jamshed, Kevin O’Brien, Evin Lewis, Nicholas Pooran, Shannon Gabriel, Fidel Edwards, Jason Mohammed, Kennar Lewis and Delorn Johnson.

Each of the teams will also be fielding 4 under 19 players which will be announced shortly. LCPL 2014 will be held during the July- August Period this year.




This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.