Amazon Warriors among big winners in Guyana’s Independence Float Parade

Two-time finalists of the Caribbean Premiere League (CPL) T20 Cricket, the Guyana Amazon Warriors team was named first place winner in the ‘Semi-Costume’ category of Guyana’s Float and Costume Band Parade which was held on May 26, 2016 as part of activities to celebrate the country’s 50th year of Independence.
The Ministry of Education, on Tuesday May 31, 2016, announced the winners of various categories of the national event which saw twenty–nine groups participating.
DSC_2673With two fully loaded trucks on the road, hundreds of cricket fans and supporters flaunted their Amazon Warriors branded jerseys, flags, hats and other merchandises as they gyrated to the beat of the popular theme song: Calling All Warriors!
The crowd grew wild with excitement on seeing their favourite players parading on the road, joining them in the grand festivities, just ahead of the much anticipated CPL tournament.
True cricket fanatics made use of the opportunity to greet and rub shoulders with their heroes, soliciting autographs and snapping selfies. Fifty autograph cricket balls were also given to excited fans along the parade route.


Owner of the Guyana Amazon Warriors franchise, Dr Ranjisinghi 'Bobby' Ramroop with a reveller prior to the start of the float parade
Owner of the Guyana Amazon Warriors franchise, Dr Ranjisinghi ‘Bobby’ Ramroop with a reveller prior to the start of the float parade

Among the players who were in the parade were Veerasammy Permaul, Devendra Bishoo, Christopher Barnwell, Stephen Jacobs, Assad Fudadin, Paul Wintz and Anthony Bramble. Coach Roger Harper, Assistant Coach Esuan Crandon along with Team Manager Omar Khan were also part of the parade.

In this year’s tournament, the team will come out under new Captain, New Zealand’s destructive top order batsman Martin Guptil, who has been with the Amazon Warriors since the inaugural tournament in 2013.
The team will include regional powerhouses: Dwayne Smith, Orlando Peters, Stephen Katwaroo, Muhammad Ahsan Ali Khan, Jason Mohammed, and Rayad Emrit.
DSC_2616The team will be boosted by international players with the likes of Pakistani fast bowler Sohail Tanvir; Australian duo, Chris Lynn, the explosive all-rounder and spinning phenomenon Adam Zampa; both of whom had exceptional runs in this year’s Indian Premiere League (IPL).
The core of the squad comprises local superstars including Captain of the West Indies Under-19 Worldcup Champions Shimron Hetmyer; spin twins Veerasammy Permaul and Devendra Bishoo; all-rounders Christopher Barnwell and Stephen Jacobs; fast bowler Paul Wintz as well as specialist top order batsman Assad Fudadin and wicket keeper Anthony Bramble.
DSC_2714The Amazon Warriors will be hosting the inaugural winners Jamaica Tallawahs on July 7 (7pm), the St Kitts & Nevis Patriots (12 midday), defending champions Trinbago Knight Riders (7pm) and the St Lucia Zouks (7pm) at the Guyana National Stadium, Providence, East Bank Demerara.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.